Ask General Mills to Make Magically Delicious Vegan Lucky Charms

UN LAB Middleware Label: Title Ends

Lucky Charms cereal features marshmallow hearts, stars, horseshoes, clovers, blue moons, unicorns, rainbows, and red balloons that are made with gelatin, which is obtained by boiling the bones, skin, and connective tissues of pigs.

photo of sweet dirty pig on grass

Please tell General Mills—the maker of Lucky Charms—that gelatin turns your stomach. By using gelatin in its cereal, the company is alienating potential consumers who care about animals—including consumers who thought Lucky Charms was “magically delicious” until they learned how gelatin is made.

Compassionate companies make vegan marshmallows using ingredients such as agar-agar, Geltor, or pectin.

Lucky Charms—and many other General Mills cereals—also lists vitamin D3 among its ingredients. The D3 in Lucky Charms comes from lanolin, a substance extracted from sheep’s wool. PETA U.S. and other PETA entities have exposed horrific cruelty at 116 sheep farms in six countries on four continents, showing that sheep are violently kicked, beaten, and left with gaping, bloody wounds after rushed, rough shearing, since shearers are usually paid by volume and tend to work as quickly as possible.

Vegan vitamin D3 is readily available and can be used not only in Lucky Charms but also in other General Mills products.

Please let General Mills know that Lucky Charms was a childhood favorite of yours and would be beloved again—if it were made with magically delicious vegan marshmallows and vegan vitamin D3.

Mr.
Jeffrey L.
Harmening
General Mills, Inc.

Speak Up for Pigs!

Fields with an asterisk(*) are required. 

Sign me up for the following e-mail:

Get texts & occasional phone calls for Action Alerts, local events, & other updates to help animals with PETA! (optional)